NRI's Board of Directors is composed of 15 leaders in the behavioral health field who serve as program directors, researchers, consultants, advocates, and finance experts. Their individual and collective competencies provide strategic guidance to NRI as it fulfills its mission to benefit both providers and consumers of health and behavioral health services. The term of office for all Board members is two years.

NRI's Board of Directors


Lorrie Rickman Jones, Ph.D.


Dr. Jones served as the Senior Policy Advisor for Behavioral Health in the Illinois Governor's Policy Cabinet. In that role, she was responsible for creating, directing, and overseeing behavioral health policy development across state agencies consistent with the Governor's major policy goals and national best practices. From 2005 to 2013, Dr. Jones served as the Director of the Division of Mental Health for the Illinois Department of Human Services.  

Vice President

David Shern, Ph.D.


Dr. Shern served as the interim President and CEO of Mental Health America. Previously, Dr. Shern served as Dean of the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute at the University of South Florida, one of the largest research and training institutes for behavioral health in the U.S. He also founded and directed the National Center for the Study of Issues in Public Mental Health within the New York Office of Mental Health.


Stephen T. Baron, M.S.W.


Mr. Baron served as the Director of Washington D.C.'s Department of Behavioral Health from 2006 - 2015. In this role, he led the development and management of mental health and substance use disorder treatment services. Under his leadership, the Department ended the 37-year court oversight of the Department’s mental health services. Prior to joining the D.C. government, he served as President of the Baltimore Mental Health Systems, Inc., for 17 years.

Member at Large

Lisa  Clements, Ph.D.


Dr. Clements serves as the Vice President of Transformation at Value Options Colorado. Recently, from 2011 - 2015, she served as the Director of the Colorado Office of Behavioral Health. In that role, she oversaw mental health institutes at Fort Logan & Pueblo, as well as community mental health, substance abuse treatment, and prevention programs. Dr. Clements is a Licensed Psychologist and brings more than two decades’ experience in the field of behavioral health.

Member at Large

Joyce Allen, M.S.W.


Ms. Allen serves as the Director of the Bureau of Prevention Treatment and Recovery in the Wisconsin Department of Health Services’ Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. In this role, Ms. Allen oversees community mental health and substance abuse programs, administrative rules and funding. Ms. Allen has over 20 years experience as a member of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services’ Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services.

Member at Large

Miriam Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D.


Dr. Delphin-Rittmon serves as Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services. Previously she served as the agency’s deputy commissioner, and director of the office of multicultural healthcare equality. Prior, spent two years as a senior advisor to the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and was an assistant professor of psychiatry at Yale.

Member at Large

Matt Salo


In 2011, Mr. Salo was appointed as the first Executive Director of the National Association of Medicaid Directors. He formerly spent 12 years at the National Governors' Association where he worked on the Governors' health care and human services reform agendas and where he firmly believes he was responsible for securing the entire tobacco settlement for the states, getting more than $100 billion in state fiscal relief.  

Member at Large

Tanya Royster, M.D.


Dr. Royster serves as the Director for the D.C. Department of Behavioral Health as appointed by Mayor Muriel Bowser. Dr. Royster is a Board certified general, child and adolescent psychiatrist who, prior to her appointment, served as the Director of Behavioral Health at the Franciscan Physicians Network in Illinois.

Member at Large

Ron Manderscheid, Ph.D.


Dr. Manderscheid serves as the Executive Director of the National Association of County Behavioral Health & Developmental Disability Directors. The Association represents county and local authorities on the national stage and provides technical assistance and support. He also serves as an Adjunct Professor at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, and is the Immediate Past President of ACMHA - The College for Behavioral Health Leadership.  

Executive Director / CEO

Tim Knettler, M.B.A., C.A.E.


Mr. Knettler has over 20 year's executive level experience in both for-profit and not-for-profit organizations. He has provided strategic planning, global strategies, transition (Interim) management, revenue/membership growth, public policy/advocacy, and other leadership expertise to associations and other non-profit and government organizations. He is the main contact for new initiatives and works closely with our federal partners, colleagues, and multiple associations to inform the public mental health system through our research and analytical capacities.

Member at Large

Melanie Harrison


Ms. Harrison serves as the Chief Information Officer of the Bureau of Information Technology Services at the Alabama Department of Mental Health. In this role, Ms. Harrison oversees the provision and dissemination of critical IT needs to the central office of the Department on Mental Health, and all its operational facilities.  

Member at Large

Dena Stoner


Ms. Stoner currently serves as the Senior Policy Advisor for the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. She has over 35 years of experience in public policy, management, strategic planning, program design and implementation.  Her innovations have been featured in various national periodicals, including the Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation, and Generations: The Journal of the American Society on Aging. Ms. Stoner also serves as an appointed member of the National Academy of State Health Policy.

Member at Large

Joe Parks, M.D.


Dr. Parks serves as the Senior Medical Director for the National Council for Behavioral Health. He most recently served as the Director of the Missouri HealthNet Division of the Missouri Department of Social Services. He oversees th Medicaid program that provides health coverage to about 850,000 lower-income children, custodial parents, disabled residents and seniors. He previously served as the Chief Medical Officer for the Missouri Department of Mental Health.   

Member at Large

Ann Marie Sullivan, M.D.


Dr. Ann Marie Sullivan serves as Commissioner for the New York State Office of Mental Health.  Previously, she was the Senior Vice President for the Queens Health Network of the New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation. Dr. Sullivan is an active advocate for her patients and her profession, is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and has served as the Speaker of the American Psychiatric Association’s Assembly and on its Board of Trustees.


Lynda Zeller


Ms. Zeller serves as the Deputy Director for Michigan's Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities Administration. She provides policy leadership for public behavioral health and developmental disabilities services,  and oversight for operations through the Bureau of Community-Based Services; Bureau of Hospitals and Administrative Operations; and the Children and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders Section. She has more than 27 years of experience serving the behavioral health community.